Focus on your Horizon

I Saw a Man Pursuing the horizon

I saw a man pursuing the horizon;
Round and round they sped.
I was disturbed at this;
I accosted the man.
“It is futile,” I said,
“You can never — “

“You lie,” he cried,
And ran on.

-Stephen Crane

I first encountered Stephen Crane in my American Lit II course about my junior year of college. The assignment was to read and respond to his short story “The Open Boat.” I loved it. The story is about 4 guys who are in a lifeboat after they get in a shipwreck. This is based on a true story. The author (Crane) was on a ship called the Commodore. On New Years Eve, the ship crashed and he was in a lifeboat trying to survive for three days. I began searching for more of Crane’s work and information on him as well. A very interesting guy.

I came across the poem above during my research and immediately connected with it. I have been on my own journey that to me has seemed impossible until now. My horizon has been completing my education and starting a career that I’ve always wanted to do and felt like I was supposed to do. After so many years of hard work and a lot of sacrifice on my part and even more by my wife and family, I have reached my horizon. I will graduate in 13 days and I have already signed a contract to begin teaching 7th grade English beginning in January.

Looking back at my long voyage, I remember those naysayers (mostly my inner demons) telling me “it is futile,” and that I will never be able to reach my goal, my destination, my horizon. I chose not to listen to them. I kept my head down, my trusty steed pointed in the same direction, and tried my best to enjoy every minute of it.

My advice to those that are on their own journey: Stay focused on the end goal; bring along as many friends and family as possible, for they will be valuable assets; and most of all RUN ON!!

Leave a Reply

