My week and a random writing thought

Wow, this last week was crazy. Two essays, one review, and my first news article for the local paper all were due. That’s not even mentioning that I had a Praxis exam this week too. I love to write. I really do. But I don’t like the rush sometimes. I edit as I write, which makes for slower writing. I had to put that aside this week in order to just get it done. Although it was tough, I found out I can write without all the editing…sort of.

That being said, I am forcing myself from now on to write first and edit second. The only thing I will change as I write is misspelled words. That seems to be too tough of a habit. Plus, I do most/all my writing on my laptop which makes for quick delete and replace. There are exercises that will help free the writer from the editor. One of my absolute favorite books on writing (in particular free-writing) is Writing Down the Bones: Freeing the Writer Within by Natalie Goldberg. The sections in the book are quick and easy to read. It’s informative and inspiring and most of all motivating. A must read for any writer.

I usually go back to this book before any other when I want motivation for writing. Most importantly, I just write. I try to just write a good sentence about anything and then another one that may or may not be related to the first one.

This is pretty much how this post was written. I had no idea what to write, but I knew I wanted to write something. And now I want to go read some of that book.

Oh and I will post about Poe hopefully soon. I think there will be a post about Hawthorne too.

Leave a Reply

