My work … my motivation

I have worked in construction practically my entire life. My grandfather was a brick and block mason and my dad has been the same for the past 38 years! Give or take a few years as a deputy sheriff.
For those of you that don’t know much about being a block mason I guess you should look it up after you’re done reading this because I am not going into detail about it. I will tell you that it is not an easy job. You are at the mercy of mother nature. If it’s winter you’re wishing it was summer and if it’s summer you’re wishing it was winter. The material you work with is heavy and coarse. It’s dirty and sweaty and well you get my point.
I’m not complaining by any means. I enjoy working outside and being around a crazy (seriously, most are crazy) bunch of guys. It’s mostly fun, besides the work of course.
As much as I like the camaraderie and being outside, I don’t like the uncertainty. I hate knowing that the weather (by weather I mean rain and freezing weather) can determine whether I work today or not. And I’m not a salary employee so if I don’t work, I don’t get paid. That’s tough on my family.
So every day when I get out there, tools in hand and sweat pouring, I realize those essays and research papers over things I really don’t want to write about, aren’t so bad. And they get me closer to my goal of teaching and out of the weather.

One thought on “My work … my motivation

  1. great post. I was in construction field too. But in sales. I sold pipe valves and fittings to the fire sprinkler industry. The camaraderie with my fellow sales guys is one that I will never forget… I loved construction mentality, the rough around the edges, the cursing, etc..

Leave a Reply

