Diving in

Well I guess just like any kind of writing you just have to start. Dive right in and not look back. So, instead of trying to figure out how to start this blog with the right post, I’m just going to start writing.

This is probably one of the best writing tips I know of too. It comes from the best book on writing that I have ever read. And if you haven’t ever read it then I suggest you get it. It’s Writing Down the Bones: Freeing the Writer Within by Natalie Goldberg. I have probably read this book, or at least picked it up and shot through a chapter or two so many times over the last six years. It’s a great book to get the juices flowing.

I will possibly write about writing and what I’m reading in this blog mostly. I am an English student at Austin Peay State University in Tennessee. So a lot of what I’m reading will come from my classes. It’s a degree that ten years ago I would have laughed at you if you told me I should get that one. I hated my English classes when I was younger and never really picked up a book to read voluntarily until I was about twenty-seven. And even then it was short stories that I could barely get through. My stamina for reading was worse than my stamina for running. Though my running stamina is about the same, I can read just about whatever I want to now and enjoy it.

I’ve always had an interest in writing. Even in school I didn’t mind writing small essays and book reports. Although the latter meant I had to read first. I have written for the local newspaper here in my hometown. The sports section. I loved every minute of it. And I kind of hope I get the chance to do some more for them in the future.

Like I said, I’m an English student. I graduate in a year, hopefully. I want to teach. I want to be that teacher that I was too blind to see when I was in school. That teacher that tries hard to be the reason a student travels down a good path to success.

I know, now, that there were a few teachers that tried for me. But I was too caught up in baseball and mostly girls that I just didn’t notice them. So, that’s a goal of mine. To be that teacher that breaks through those walls that certain students put up and send them down a successful path soon enough where they are not playing catch up to a world that won’t slow down.

My world has flown by and catching up is very hard to do, especially when you create a life that includes four kids and a wife that works full-time. I have absolutely no regrets. My life, though hectic, is pretty freaking awesome. I’ll write about soon enough.

I’m an open book. Every word to my life is right there to be seen, read and interpreted; and I encourage discussion. How else are you going to expand your perspective on a topic if you don’t see others opinions of it? I’m just that way.

Well there you go. My first post. Some info about me and what I hope to do.

I didn’t really explain much about what the blog will do, but then again, I guess you can look at it like I left the door open for anything.

2 thoughts on “Diving in

Leave a Reply

